recommendations

If You Loved Geekerella…

Happy Monday! Or should I say, yay, it’s the start of a new week?

Regardless of how we feel about Mondays, I hope you had a restful weekend. It’s starting to get super chilly here and I think I have to put away my bike for the season soon. Definitely time to take out the warm sweaters, blankets and a comfy seat to curl up with a book!

So today I am bringing some recommendations for an old story that I fell in love with so long ago. Whether you’ve read this one or not, hopefully you’ll find one of these books interesting to take a look into.


About the book (review here)

Cinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fueled twist on the classic fairy tale.

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfieldmovie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.


If you loved the Cinderella retelling aspect with a fun sci-fi twist…

…then you should definitely pick up Cinder by Marissa Meyer. I personally LOVE Cinderella retellings the most and if you haven’t read this one yet, I love the creativity in our heroine, Cinder, and the additional plot lines that were added on top of the traditional Cinderella story. Both books are just SO creative!

If you loved all the geekiness and modern day sci-fi references…

…then Chaotic Good by Whitney Gardner is an amazing contender for all of your sci-fi geekiness and the realm of cosplaying. I personally have only touched the surface of cosplay and D&D but I loved learning so much about standing up for what you love, whether it’s labelled “cool” or not, and be proud of it. Even if sci-if geekiness isn’t your thing, both books dive so well into the characters who love this so much that it really doesn’t matter.

If you loved a romance between a celeb and an ordinary teen…

…then you should check out Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss by Kasie West! Have you ever wondered what it would be like for a “normal” person to find themselves not only interacting with a celebrity of sorts, but being the object of their affection? Well, it definitely comes with some bumps (and paparazzi), but it makes for fascinating reading as they navigate such a relationship.


And that’s a wrap for this week’s If You Loved This! I would love to know what you think of some of these books if you’ve read them, or if you feel there’s another book you’d group in this series.

Thanks for stopping by! I always appreciate it

Xx

3 thoughts on “If You Loved Geekerella…”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s