recommendations

If You Loved Not Here To be Liked…

It’s time to bring this series into 2022! I can’t believe the last time I did this was in December. So we’re kicking it off with a wonderful book I read end of last year that brought two interesting things together: Asian representation and feminism.

Let’s first take a look at its lovely cover and then we’ll get right into it!


About the book (review here)

A novel that unpacks just how complicated new love can get…when you fall for your enemy.

Eliza Quan is the perfect candidate for editor in chief of her school paper. That is, until ex-jock Len DiMartile decides on a whim to run against her. Suddenly her vast qualifications mean squat because inexperienced Len—who is tall, handsome, and male—just seems more like a leader.

When Eliza’s frustration spills out in a viral essay, she finds herself inspiring a feminist movement she never meant to start, caught between those who believe she’s a gender equality champion and others who think she’s simply crying misogyny.

Amid this growing tension, the school asks Eliza and Len to work side by side to demonstrate civility. But as they get to know one another, Eliza feels increasingly trapped by a horrifying realization—she just might be falling for the face of the patriarchy himself.


If you loved the rivals with underlying chemistry…

…then you will enjoy the same kind of underlying chemistry found in What’s Not to Love. These rivals fighting for absolutely everything – valedictorian, Harvard recommendation, etc. – take a romantic turn after some crazy intense drama unfolds. If the enemies-to-lovers trope on the highest intensity level is your thing, this is the book for you!

If you loved stories about young women fighting for their rights…

…then look no further than Moxie! In the same way that Eliza’s essay ignited something among her fellow classmates in her school, Viv’s zine does the same and the consequences are what we’re here for. There aren’t enough YA books that take a good solid look at feminism but these two handle it superbly well.

If you loved the Asian representation in addition to a healthy dose of competition…

…then Made in Korea is a sure bet for you. With protagonists selling products for competing Korean businesses they have created at school, these rivals pack on the chemistry. However, the juiciest parts are the integral roles of Asian culture and family that is so deeply woven into the story that authentically highlights the Asian experience.


So there we have it, friends! Hope you enjoy these recommendations if you have not already got them on your radar and the TBR. As always, I’m happy to hear your thoughts down below.

4 thoughts on “If You Loved Not Here To be Liked…”

  1. i love this series of recommendation posts!! i haven’t read any of these books but not here to be liked and made in korea are pretty high up on my tbr and you make me even more excited to read them!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s