recommendations

If You Loved Daughter of a Pirate King…

Hello everyone! It’s Thursday and it’s an early weekend for me as I’m taking the day off tomorrow to go dye my hair at a salon (*whispers* I’ve never done that before in my life so hope it goes well).

But in the meantime, I leave with you today another fun segment of “If You Loved This!”.

Today’s book was Tricia Levenseller’s debut and was one of my first books introducing me more to the seafaring YA books out there. You can say I was pleasantly surprised! So what was the book about?


About the book (review here)

There will be plenty of time for me to beat him soundly once I’ve gotten what I came for.

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.


If you loved the found family aspect of the pirate crew…

…then you will love Fable. On any crew, you only have those on the ship you can rely on, and hopefully that trust goes deep when danger lurks. As with Daughter of the Pirate King, Fable’s journey onboard a certain vessel she’d hoped to be her salvation takes her more than off an island but towards a family she didn’t know she needed.

If you loved strong women on the stormy seas…

…then you will enjoy Seafire (and its sequels). While this is also heavily filled with found family aspects on the crew, maybe even more so than the above recommendation, this book showcases how strong women are in the face of adversary, in loyalty and in love. I loved that part in the book because most pirates (in the book setting but let’s be honest, also when we think of pirates in general) are mostly male-dominant. This was a great story of sisterhood and the strength in their numbers.

If you loved a seafaring enemies to lovers romance…

…then you will have to pick up a copy of To Kill a Kingdom. Like with Alosa and Riden, this is a darker version of such a romance in this standalone fantasy loosely based off The Little Mermaid. When a siren princess is cursed as a human until she brings back another human prince’s heart (who just so happens to be a prolific siren hunter), you just know it’s going to get juicy reconciling their differences for a romance to work out. Definitely bring out the popcorn.


I know these are a lot of seafaring books, but it’s just scratching the surface I’m sure since these ones came out a few years ago. I’m always happy to hear any suggestions from YOU.

Hope you all have a great rest of the week! Until next time on this segment.

Which, by the way, I’m always happy to take suggestions for the next book to feature!

2 thoughts on “If You Loved Daughter of a Pirate King…”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s