recommendations

If You Loved Anna and the French Kiss…

Hello book lovers, and welcome back to another segment of “If You Loved This”. I’m moving to rom-coms today as I’ve been in the mood for lighter reads lately. When I think of a classic YA rom-com of the last decade, Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins definitely pops into my head with its romantic tensions and glorious Paris setting. There’s a reason it’s much loved, even getting a fancy new reprint.

So if you have ever loved this book, here are some other books I recommend for you to read next!


About the book (review here)

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend. 

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?


If you loved meeting hot guys while studying abroad…

…then Hot British Boyfriend by Kristy Boyce is your winner! It’s full of, well, hot British guys that our heroine falls for and more romantic tension than I expected as she navigates her turbulent love life. While it’s tempting to go all in for a guy she meets in England (it’s that accent!), perhaps love is closer than she expected.

If you loved a cute romance with plenty of travel…

…then our next book here is Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch. Set in gorgeous Florence, Italy, this follows our heroine in search of her mother’s mysterious history in Italy. With the help of a cute Italian boy, this novel is full of descriptive sights that makes you feel like you’re travelling around Tuscany alongside them.

If you loved romantic angst in all its torturous forms…

…then American Royals by Katharine McGee is a sure read. When the protagonist(s) cannot immediately be with the guy they want, because it’s forbidden or there is someone else in the picture, this book pushes the boundaries of heart aching angst as we cheer on the couple we ship to finally get together.


Have you read any of these books I’ve chosen? What do you think about these recommendations? Let me know in the comments below! Contemporary romance is the genre I’ve read less in YA relative to fantasy so I’m always happy to learn more from those who absolutely love this genre.

Don’t miss Stephanie Perkins’ latest novel, The Woods Are Always Watching, out now!

1 thought on “If You Loved Anna and the French Kiss…”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s