book tag

Waiting on Wednesday: Lady Smoke by Laura Sebastian

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event, originally hosted by Breaking the Spine, where we’ll be posting about an upcoming book that we’re extremely excited for!


lady smoke -laura sebastianSUMMARY

The sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller that was “made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir” ( Bustle ), Lady Smoke is an epic new fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people.

The Kaiser murdered Theodosia’s mother, the Fire Queen, when Theo was only six. He took Theo’s country and kept her prisoner, crowning her Ash Princess–a pet to toy with and humiliate for ten long years. That era has ended. The Kaiser thought his prisoner weak and defenseless. He didn’t realize that a sharp mind is the deadliest weapon.

Theo no longer wears a crown of ashes. She has taken back her rightful title, and a hostage–Prinz Soren. But her people remain enslaved under the Kaiser’s rule, and now she is thousands of miles away from them and her throne.

To get them back, she will need an army. Only, securing an army means she must trust her aunt, the dreaded pirate Dragonsbane. And according to Dragonsbane, an army can only be produced if Theo takes a husband. Something an Astrean Queen has never done.

Theo knows that freedom comes at a price, but she is determined to find a way to save her country without losing herself.

AUTHOR: Laura Sebastian

SERIES: Ash Princess Trilogy #2

PUBLICATION DATE: February 5, 2019


The best thing about books that we’re excited for is when it is pretty much the day of its release! Are you as happy as I am right now that it’s finally here? And give a shout out if you think that cover is just absolutely brilliant!

book tag, YA

Waiting on Wednesday: The Wicked King by Holly Black

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event, originally hosted by Breaking the Spine, where we’ll be posting about an upcoming book that we’re extremely excited for!


the wicked king -holly blackSUMMARY

You must be strong enough to strike and strike and strike again without tiring.

The first lesson is to make yourself strong.

After the jaw-dropping revelation that Oak is the heir to Faerie, Jude must keep her younger brother safe. To do so, she has bound the wicked king, Cardan, to her, and made herself the power behind the throne. Navigating the constantly shifting political alliances of Faerie would be difficult enough if Cardan were easy to control. But he does everything in his power to humiliate and undermine her even as his fascination with her remains undiminished.

When it becomes all too clear that someone close to Jude means to betray her, threatening her own life and the lives of everyone she loves, Jude must uncover the traitor and fight her own complicated feelings for Cardan to maintain control as a mortal in a Faerie world.

AUTHOR: Holly Black

SERIES: The Folk of the Air #2

PUBLICATION DATE: January 8, 2019


Should I even ask who else is excited for this book? Maybe the better question is, who has it on preorder? 😉

book tag, YA

Waiting on Wednesday: Undying by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event, originally hosted by Breaking the Spine, where we’ll be posting about an upcoming book that we’re extremely excited for!


undying -amie kaufman and meagan spooner SUMMARY

Trapped aboard the Undying’s ancient spaceship and reeling from what they’ve learned there, scavenger Mia and academic Jules are plunged into a desperate race to warn their home planet of the danger humanity’s greed has unleashed. From the mountains of Spain to the streets of Prague, the sequel to Unearthed is a white-knuckle ride that will send readers hurtling back to earth, and leave them breathless until the last page.

The earth’s fate rests in Mia and Jules’s hands in the epic conclusion to New York Times best-selling authors Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner’s tomb-raiding sci-fi duology.

AUTHOR: Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

SERIES: Unearthed #2

PUBLICATION DATE: January 8, 2019


Who’s in love with a good sci-fi adventure on faraway planets/galaxies? This one or any other? Raise your hand (or leave a comment!)